AWTRS AGM Minutes

Monday 29 November 2018

UQ Research Station, Stradbroke Island

In attendance: Leila Cuttle, Lyn Wise, Stuart Pitson, Allison Cowin, Shiva Akbarazadeh, Zalitha Pieterse, Pritinder Kaur, Ruilong Zhao, Xanthe Strudwick, Stuart Mills, Zlatko Kopecki, Natalie Stevens, Parinaz Ahangar, Zoe West, Eleonore Bolle, Rachael Murray, Brooke Farrugia.

President's report – Rachael Murray

- AWTRS website redesign thank you to Scott Macfarlane and the AWTRS committee members who helped with the ideas and website content. If there are any society members that would like to contribute to the website, please get in contact.
- New membership provider Small Talk Events is going well
- Thank you to AWTRS Committee members that were part of the Cutaneous Biology
 Conference Committee, they included Allison Cowin, Pritinder Kaur, Brooke Farrugia,
 Rachael Murray and Leila Cuttle. Thank you also to the committee members that were part
 of the EMCR Cutaneous Biology Committee, Brooke Farrugia, Zlatko Kopecki, Leila Cuttle,
 and Xanthe Strudwick.
- The society granted 3 travel awards for ECRs to attend meetings and present their work. Recipients of the travel awards were Huan Ting Ong (Ear Science Institute) to attend the International Society for Stem Cell Research in Melbourne, 20 23 June 2018 (\$500). Ruilong Zhao (USyd) to attend the European Wound Management Association (EWMA) Conference in Krakow in 9 11 May 2019 (\$1000), and Xanthe Strudwick (UniSA) to attend ScarConETRS 2018 Congress, Amsterdam, on May 31-June 2, 2018 (\$1000).
- The society granted 8 travel awards for ECR to attend the Cutaneous Biology Meeting, recipients of the awards were Natalie Stevens (UniSA), Christopher Turner (Uni. of British Columbia), Xanthe Strudwick (UniSA), Zalitha Pieterse (Curtin University), Carla Cannizzo (USyd), Zoe West (QUT), Andrew Stevenson (UWA), and Stuart Mills (UniSA).

Report accepted by Stuart Pitson, seconded by Pritinder Kaur and accepted by all members present

Treasurer's report - Allison Cowin

- The society is currently financially sound.
- The main costs for 2018 have been seed funding for the Cutaneous Biology meeting, redesign of the society website, and awards granted to society ECR and student members
- The income for the society was down compared to previous years due to the change in the memberships, and that they will now run based on a calendar year from 1 Jan 31 Dec.
- As the society is not for profit, if members have any new ideas for ways to support members to please contact Allison.

Report accepted by Xanthe Strudwick, seconded by Stuart Pitson and accepted by all members present

Membership and Secretary report - Brooke Farrugia

- Transitioned to Small Talk Events for handling of membership fees
- Transitioned to memberships into a calendar year format during transition memberships that were due during 2018 were extended until 31 December 2018, effected funds from membership payments for this year.
- 43 memberships expire 31/12/2018, this will help income for 2019.
- We currently have 66 paid members, this is the same number of members as 2017, distribution of members in the different states changed.

Report accepted by Rachael Murray, seconded by Xanthe Strudwick and accepted by all members present

ECR report – Xanthe Strudwick

- ECR Social event to be held at the Cutaneous Biology Meeting on Tuesday 30 October from 8pm at the North Stradbroke Island RSL. Sponsored in partnership with ASDR and MEPSA
- Theo Murphy Initiative EMCR Program to be held at the Cutaneous Biology Meeting. The iThinkWell EMCR Workshop will be 'Developing a Research Track Record on a Shoe String' on Tuesday 30 October 1:30pm 3:30pm
- EMCR Masterclass 'Pathways to Success' Wednesday 31 October 1:30pm 2:30pm as part of the EMCR events organised for the Cutaneous Biology Meeting.
- AWTRS awards for ECRs the society supported ECRs through the following awards
 - National and International Conference Travel,
 - Cutaneous Biology Travel Award,
 - Cutaneous Biology Oral and Poster Awards,
 - Third AWTRS Young Investigator Award
- Newsletter articles ECRs within the society were highlighted in several articles within the AWTRS biannual newsletter including
 - Student and ECR profiles,
 - Involvement of AWTRS ECRs in international conferences,
 - Theo Murphy EMCR Program
- Website content for ECRs there is an ECR tabs for new AWTRS website which include
 - ECR awards/awardees;
 - Events; Tips and Tricks career development;
 - Job Opportunities.
- Twitter the AWTRS twitter account (@_AWTRS) supported retweets regarding ECRs including recent encouragement for AWTRS student in 3MT Finals.
- Opportunities for ECRs to get involved!! if you would like to get involved in either the newsletter, web design or content, or anything that is ECR related please get in contact.

Report accepted by Rachael Murray, seconded by Pritinder Kaur and accepted by all members present

Nominations for committee positions

- President Brooke Farrugia (Vic) accepted by Allison Cowin, seconded by Pritinder Kaur, and accepted by all members present
- Vice President Pritinder Kaur (WA) accepted by Rachael Murray, seconded Brooke
 Farrugia, and accepted by all members present
- Treasurer Allison Cowin (SA) accepted by Brooke Farrugia, seconded by Rachael Murray, and accepted by all members present
- Secretary Stuart Mills (SA) accepted by Brooke Farrugia, seconded by Rachael Murray, and accepted by all members present
- ECR Representative Xanthe Strudwick (SA) voted in by members through a ballot and accepted by all members present
- Committee members
 - Rachael Murray (QLD) (Immediate past president)
 - Lyn Wise (NZ)
 - Ruilong Zhao (NSW)
 - Zlatko Koplecki (SA)
 - Natalie Stevens (SA)
 - Stuart Pitson (SA)
- One committee member position remains open.